SFO : Street Fighter Online

SFO : Street Fighter Online (http://forums.streetfighteronline.com/index.php)
-   New Features (http://forums.streetfighteronline.com/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Servers (http://forums.streetfighteronline.com/showthread.php?t=2722)

Vash 03-12-2006 10:58 AM

How about this we could keep the original sfo servers too. People can make there own servers and it will be a dedicated server which is like a remote to thre desktop. People could make there own servers and on there desktop there the admin of it and they can assign mods to that server, also following along with SSJKarama idea it could show how many people are on the server on the side or something.

sithlord_12 03-12-2006 03:18 PM

not saying its bad or anything its good

MSI 03-12-2006 03:25 PM

this isnt CS...i dont think its possible off of shockwave, and if it is, its a bad idea...It would take more space everyone making 100 servers all the time...and then there would be like 2 ppl in each server. it would spread them out to much to hard to find ppl..

Vash 03-13-2006 02:54 PM

Yes but were not really sure unless anyone is an expert on shockwave.

Venomous-Ninja 03-13-2006 03:03 PM

That's a bad idea, the game would be flooded with servers!

y_09 03-13-2006 03:05 PM

your host = your server

i think your idea will need alot of bandwith space for it to work, but as i don't know enough details about how the servers are maintained i could be completely wrong

sithlord_11 03-13-2006 03:18 PM

plus there will be so many that no one will hardly join ur server

Vash 03-13-2006 09:30 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (y_09 @ Mar. 13 2006,4:05)]your host = your server

i think your idea will need alot of bandwith space for it to work, but as i don't know enough details about how the servers are maintained i could be completely wrong

Yes exactly but I don't know TMYapp really need to look at this or Nferno666.

Cwing 03-13-2006 09:42 PM

It'll be better if there four fighting servers and one server for Q&A...


-A 1on1 server (with perks)
-A 1on1 server (w/o perks)
-A tag server (with perks)
-And A Tag server (w/o perks)
- Also a members help server in which people ask's question's and get help on anything thats related to SFO which i would love to help out with =/

Y_09: You need a cable modem or higher a above average comp if youwant to host a server.




Vash 03-13-2006 10:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (chicken_wing @ Mar. 13 2006,10:42)]It'll be better if there four fighting servers and one server for Q&A...


-A 1on1 server (with perks)
-A 1on1 server (w/o perks)
-A tag server (with perks)
-And A Tag server (w/o perks)
- Also a members help server in which people ask's question's and get help on anything thats related to SFO which i would love to help out with =/

Y_09: You need a cable modem or higher a above average comp if youwant to host a server.

@Y_09 you don't need a good performance computr to host a servr my firned got a crappy pc. PC Pavilion old 3000. His pc sucks but has an up to date graphics card and he has aol. i played CS on it and it let me hous a dedicated server with no problem.

Cwing 03-13-2006 10:02 PM

^...For SFO your gonna need a decent comp.

Vash 03-13-2006 10:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (chicken_wing @ Mar. 13 2006,11:02)]^...For SFO your gonna need a decent comp.

No you don't dawg, look as I said if you play with a 56k on this game it should play smoothly especially with cable or dsl.

Cwing 03-13-2006 10:07 PM

Erm,I forgot where the thread went,but TMyApp posted a thread on how to host your own server in SFO...
He clearly stated you must have a decent Cable Modem/DSL if your gonna even think about hosting a server...




Vash 03-13-2006 10:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (chicken_wing @ Mar. 13 2006,11:07)]Erm,I forgot where the thread went,but TMyApp posted a thread on how to host your own server in SFO...
He clearly stated you must have a decent Cable Modem/DSL if your gonna even think about hosting a server...

Oh, can you find the link and give it to me please?

SSJKarma 03-14-2006 12:19 PM

first of all... a dedicated server is a machine on which th egame runs without any graphics, it just barely a connection holder with data's on levels and the likes. this is not how it works for SFO. the servers of sfo are merely chat rooms, they have nothing more to do then that. they only able you the user to choose an opponent and then boom your two computers deals with each other, the server jobs when you connect to someone else.

secondly, this idea wouldn't work. for even if you could create a server it all link to tmyapp's game thus he would need to create the admins or mods for that server. thus he would ahve even more job to do then what he already has.

thirdly, if you want to create a server, we have no problem with that. we're always in need of such things.
there was even a topic in a certain section dedicated to that. don't know if it's still there thought.

so this idea is much more a yes/no deal then a real answer.
yes we need more servers, no the dedicated server aren't possible.

chicken wings... that is actually a very nice idea !

Nferno666 03-14-2006 02:25 PM

actually no we don't need more servers since we have 5 and people only use ONE...and YES you need a VERY good comp to host a server for SFO since once you load it up it REQUIRES 100% of youe CPU usage and needs alot of CPU power for it not to lags so much while your server is being hammered. hosting a server on a 56k for those that think it's "good" just make me laugh http://bbs.projectx.cyberfuturism.co...s/biggrin2.gif

this isn't the 90's http://bbs.projectx.cyberfuturism.co...cons/crazy.gif




Vash 03-14-2006 03:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (SSJKarma @ Mar. 14 2006,1:19)]first of all... a dedicated server is a machine on which th egame runs without any graphics, it just barely a connection holder with data's on levels and the likes. this is not how it works for SFO. the servers of sfo are merely chat rooms, they have nothing more to do then that. they only able you the user to choose an opponent and then boom your two computers deals with each other, the server jobs when you connect to someone else.

secondly, this idea wouldn't work. for even if you could create a server it all link to tmyapp's game thus he would need to create the admins or mods for that server. thus he would ahve even more job to do then what he already has.

thirdly, if you want to create a server, we have no problem with that. we're always in need of such things.
there was even a topic in a certain section dedicated to that. don't know if it's still there thought.

so this idea is much more a yes/no deal then a real answer.
yes we need more servers, no the dedicated server aren't possible.

chicken wings... that is actually a very nice idea !

I really want to create my own server I have a awsome pc it has DSL ultra with a sucky graphics card though, can you tell me how to do this or find the topic where it said this?

Cwing 03-14-2006 03:48 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (Vash @ Mar. 14 2006,11:03)]
Quote:

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (SSJKarma @ Mar. 14 2006,1:19)]first of all... a dedicated server is a machine on which th egame runs without any graphics, it just barely a connection holder with data's on levels and the likes. this is not how it works for SFO. the servers of sfo are merely chat rooms, they have nothing more to do then that. they only able you the user to choose an opponent and then boom your two computers deals with each other, the server jobs when you connect to someone else.

secondly, this idea wouldn't work. for even if you could create a server it all link to tmyapp's game thus he would need to create the admins or mods for that server. thus he would ahve even more job to do then what he already has.

thirdly, if you want to create a server, we have no problem with that. we're always in need of such things.
there was even a topic in a certain section dedicated to that. don't know if it's still there thought.

so this idea is much more a yes/no deal then a real answer.
yes we need more servers, no the dedicated server aren't possible.

chicken wings... that is actually a very nice idea !

I really want to create my own server I have a awsome pc it has DSL ultra with a sucky graphics card though, can you tell me how to do this or find the topic where it said this?

Vash posts your DSL speed since some DSL's provider's are crappy.
Also like Nferno said your going to have to wait awhile since people usally only play on one server and it will but useless for you to waste your CPU when it's not needed ^^.

@Karma:Thanks <3..




Dark_Paladin_X 03-14-2006 03:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (Nferno666 @ Mar. 14 2006,3:25)]actually no we don't need more servers since we have 5 and people only use ONE...and YES you need a VERY good comp to host a server for SFO since once you load it up it REQUIRES 100% of youe CPU usage and needs alot of CPU power for it not to lags so much while your server is being hammered. hosting a server on a 56k for those that think it's "good" just make me laugh http://bbs.projectx.cyberfuturism.co...s/biggrin2.gif

this isn't the 90's http://bbs.projectx.cyberfuturism.co...cons/crazy.gif

I 2nd that. With the anniversary server open, that's like "the spot", and everyone tries to cramp in it, then some wonder if they've been banned from the server or if the server is down or something. Which may be 1, or both.

Right now, another server isn't needed.

el_playa 03-14-2006 05:16 PM

dpx... you're right... and who exactly hosts the first and backup server... too many ppl are always there

Cwing 03-14-2006 05:20 PM

DPX host's Sfo first server, and Nferno host's the backup server or vice versa i forgot http://bbs.projectx.cyberfuturism.co...s/confused.gif

Dark_Paladin_X 03-14-2006 05:36 PM

uh....

Anniversary: Dark_Paladin_X
Dawn of Rage: Nferno666
Global: blanka09
Backup: TMyApp
Tournament: TMyApp

Vash 03-14-2006 09:28 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (Nferno666 @ Mar. 14 2006,3:25)]actually no we don't need more servers since we have 5 and people only use ONE...and YES you need a VERY good comp to host a server for SFO since once you load it up it REQUIRES 100% of youe CPU usage and needs alot of CPU power for it not to lags so much while your server is being hammered. hosting a server on a 56k for those that think it's "good" just make me laugh http://bbs.projectx.cyberfuturism.co...s/biggrin2.gif

this isn't the 90's http://bbs.projectx.cyberfuturism.co...cons/crazy.gif

So... I still have a 56k with 512 mb and DSL ultra.

MSI 03-14-2006 09:49 PM

my cable owns u all

Nferno666 03-14-2006 11:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (Dark_Paladin_X @ Mar. 14 2006,3:36)]uh....

Anniversary: Dark_Paladin_X
Dawn of Rage: Nferno666
Global: blanka09
Backup: TMyApp
Tournament: TMyApp

exactly...and the reasons WHY top scores crashes or you can't log is when 1st server is down because the ppl run to backup and Tournament Server which uses a very OLD CPU and was only put up as a "backup" back when global was dead dead thanks to it's original host going MIA and never telling us...and it's really only meant as the name suggest while both global and DOR have basicly the best computers from all the hosts to begin with BUT nobody ever seems to join them and if we were to get rid of them you ppl would bitch -_-

the order you see is techniquely the best computer from the top to the worst at the bottom, only exception to that is DPX server since his is new...and we all know new always goes on top.

it would be BEST if ppl didn't goto Backup when 1st server is down because of the reasons mentioned above. DOR and Backup ARE ALWAYS up...well at least DOR is...and if it's not a simple PM to me will fix that ASAP. if the authenication server ever dies then you know why http://bbs.projectx.cyberfuturism.co...s/biggrin2.gif

Cwing 03-15-2006 09:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (Nferno666 @ Mar. 14 2006,7:37)]
Quote:

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (Dark_Paladin_X @ Mar. 14 2006,3:36)]uh....

Anniversary: Dark_Paladin_X
Dawn of Rage: Nferno666
Global: blanka09
Backup: TMyApp
Tournament: TMyApp

exactly...and the reasons WHY top scores crashes or you can't log is when 1st server is down because the ppl run to backup and Tournament Server which uses a very OLD CPU and was only put up as a "backup" back when global was dead dead thanks to it's original host going MIA and never telling us...and it's really only meant as the name suggest while both global and DOR have basicly the best computers from all the hosts to begin with BUT nobody ever seems to join them and if we were to get rid of them you ppl would bitch -_-

the order you see is techniquely the best computer from the top to the worst at the bottom, only exception to that is DPX server since his is new...and we all know new always goes on top.

it would be BEST if ppl didn't goto Backup when 1st server is down because of the reasons mentioned above. DOR and Backup ARE ALWAYS up...well at least DOR is...and if it's not a simple PM to me will fix that ASAP. if the authenication server ever dies then you know why http://bbs.projectx.cyberfuturism.co...s/biggrin2.gif

!(DARKVIRUS)! XD..

Anyway Nferno everytime i tryo to join the D.O.R server it never lets me enter >=/.

Nferno666 03-15-2006 11:11 PM

it should let u in just fine unless you have your network configuration WRONG which most ppl i talked to who failed getting into have had it...if you are behind a firewall/router only put a check on "OLD CONNECTION MODE" and nothing else because you only need that checked...those who put a check firewall/proxy had their settings totally wrong...that is only meant for schools and such but it only worked back in 2k1...now school filters are not as weak as they use to be so 90% of the time you'll never be able to connect to the server if you using a school comp.

xsouldeath 03-17-2006 01:34 PM

or maybe let the host give 'power' to people who cant host to specify the settings to give people with routers more ability..iuno
by hosting a server u want to throw ur computer internet away and the mostly costs and host everyone's sfo matches?

Dark_Magican_ 03-18-2006 01:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by [b
Quote[/b] (Vash @ Mar. 12 2006,11:58)]How about this we could keep the original sfo servers too. People can make there own servers and it will be a dedicated server which is like a remote to thre desktop. People could make there own servers and on there desktop there the admin of it and they can assign mods to that server, also following along with SSJKarama idea it could show how many people are on the server on the side or something.

hey vash you know what that can be a reaaly good idea you know mabey like gunzonline you know what i mean anyway i want to keep in contact so here my email darkmagicanx@hotmail.com

Kill_dem_all 03-18-2006 01:16 PM

Why in the hec is another server needed?

We have too much as it is...

The ones I actually seen used are

Anniversery Server
Back-Up Server (When Anni is down)
Tournament Server

the other servers are kinda a waste because NO1 goes in them


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Navbar with Avatar by Kolbi